2022 AGM and Prize Giving

, ,

The 2022 AGM and Prize Giving was held at Royal Musselburgh Golf Club on Thursday 10th November. Prior to the meeting many members gathered in the clubhouse for afternoon tea. Our thanks go to the staff at Royal Musselburgh Golf Club for looking after us so well.

Michelle Campbell from Macmillan Cancer Support joined the afternoon tea allowing Gail and Frances to present her with a cheque for £5700 in aid of the charity. This was the money raised from the Babe Zaharias earlier in  the year.

The Juniors were the first to be presented with their Trophies and Prizes.

As always the girls have worked hard throughout the season and played some great golf. They are all a credit to the County and to Shona Paton (Junior Convenor)  who continues to support them with her hard work and encouragement. This year, over and above the annual Junior trophies presented, “The Catriona Matthew Trophy” went to the Junior Team of Louise Martin, Ellie Bent and Evie McCallum. Evie who is this year’s Junior Champion, was surprised when she was, unexpectedly,  presented with the “East Girls Order of Merit Trophy ” and  “The Marjory Ferguson Trophy for East of Scotland’s Top Qualifier”.



The proposed change to the constitution allowing for the reintroduction of a membership category of “non-playing members” who wish to continue to support County events and attend social events was approved.

Treasurer, Una Cooper, reported on a good financial position heading into next year and that membership of the County remains healthy with 29 new members joining this year.

Secretary, Nancy Thorne, who has worked tirelessly with Scottish Golf to ease the introduction of the current VMS system which we now use for competition administration , reported that, unavoidably, we will once again be changing to a new system next year. More information will follow but it is hoped that ultimately this new system will be easier for all to use.

Stepping down from the Committee are President Carol Ross, Captain Gail McKill and Committee Members Jane Nelson and Helen Bruce. 

In her report Gail thanked Carol Ross for all her wise words and wealth of experience that she brought to the table, Helen Bruce for the marvellous job she has done curating the trophies over the last four years and Jane Nelson for staying on an extra year, after her three years as Secretary, to assist Nancy with the changeover . Before handing over to Frances Hall, Gail thanked all the Committee and County members for their support and said she had enjoyed every minute of her Captaincy. Frances thanked Gail for all her hard work over the last two years as Captain and also the previous two years as Vice Captain. We have had a very successful season this year and Gail has done a fantastic job in organising all our meetings, the Jamboree and everything else sent her way.




New Committee Members

  • President             Elaine Dick      Gullane Ladies    2023 & 2024
  • Vice President   Sue Penman    Gullane Ladies   2023 & 2024
  • Captain                 Frances Hall   Gullane Ladies   2023 *
  • Vice Captain       Lesley Wood    RMGC                 2023  *
  • Treasurer            Una Cooper      Renaissance      Annual App.
  • Secretary             Nancy Thorne  Gullane Ladies  Annual App.
  • Junior Con.         Shona Paton    Gifford               Annual App.
  •  Committee         Alex Kelly          Renaissance       2023
  • Committee          Fiona McIver    North Berwick  2023/4
  • Committee          Jill McNicoll     Gullane Ladies  2023/5

*  eligible for re-election





The AGM was well attended and after all the reports were delivered the prize giving followed.

County Champion Kirsten Ireland

The full list of Prize winners and photos can be found here – https://www.ellgolf.co.uk/about/agm/prize-giving-photos-2022/